Aberystwyth, Ceredigion

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aberystwyth, Cardiganshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.png Aberystwyth

A guide to genealogy in Aberystwyth, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Aberystwyth is a seaside town, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the town was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Aberystwyth is an important educational centre, with both Aberystwyth University and the National Library of Wales sited in the town.

History

ABERYSTWITH (ABER-YSTWYTH), a sea-port, borough, market town, and chapelry, in the parish of LLAN BADARN-VAWR, locally, in the lower division of the hundred of GENEU'R, GLYN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 38 miles (N.E.) from Cardigan, and 208 (W. N.W.) from London. This place, from its having been fortified at a very early period, and also forming part of the ancient parish of Llanbadarn Vawr, was originally called Llan-Badarn Gaerog; whilst the small ancient village of Aber-ystwith was situated to the west of it, on ground now covered by the sea, and on the bank of the Ystwyth, into which river the Rheidol probably emptied itself, at some distance from the ocean. Many years before the erection of Old St. Michael's chapel, which was taken down in 1836, the town appears to have been deprived of a church or chapel by the encroachments of the sea. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists, and Roman Catholics.[1]

For further information on Aberystwyth see Genuki - Aberystwyth

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Vision of Britain - Aberystwyth

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 12-25. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.