Abington Pigotts, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Abington Pigotts, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Abington Pigotts, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Royston|
|Parish registers: 1729|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
ABINGTON-IN-THE-CLAY, or Abington-Pigots (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Royston, hundred of Armingford, county of Cambridge, 4½ miles (W. N. W.) from Royston.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Abington Pigotts, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Abington Pigotts, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Parish registers begin in 1729 and Bishop Transcripts begin in 1599. The Church of England records for Abington Pigotts, St. Michael's are available on microfilm through the Family History Library or your local Family History Center.
The Parish registers of Abington Pigotts, otherwise Abington juxta Shingay, in the county of Cambridge, 1653-1812: Film # 845445 Item 2
Bishop's transcripts for Abington-in-the-Clay, 1599-1871: Film No. 1485264. This microfilm has been digitised.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241222.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Abington Pigotts or Abington in the Clay on GENUKI