Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Adams County, Mississippi)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi


Adams County

Guide to Adams County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a southwestern Mississippi county. For other uses, see Adams.


{{{link}}}


Adams County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Adams County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1799 from the Natchez District
County Seat Natchez
Courthouse
Mississippi AdamsCourthouse.jpg
Address Adams County Court House

Circuit Clerk (601) 446-6326 Natchez, MS 39120 Natchez City Hall (601) 445-7500 Natchez, MS 39120


County Information

Adams County, Mississippi Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1802

1800
1780
1800

County Courthouse

Adams County Courthouse
115 S Wall St; PO Box 1008
Natchez, MS 39120;
Phone: 601.446.6684

Clerk Chancery Court has court, land and probate records. Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and death records. [1]

History

Parent County

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1643-1947) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Names in Stone

See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Federal Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company B - Natchez Southrons [also listed as Co. C]
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
Company H - Connor Battery
- 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company B - Natchez Fencibles
World War I
World War II
Korean War
Vietnam War

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Adams County, Mississippi Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

South Mississippi Genealogical & Historical Society,
P.O. Box 15271,
Hattiesburg, MS 39401

Southwest Mississippi Genealogy Society,
P.O. Box 175,
McComb, Mississippi, 39649


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adams County, Mississippi page 378, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Adams_County,_Mississippi_Genealogy&oldid=2771408"