Adams County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Adams County, North Dakota)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Dakota
Adams County

Guide to Adams County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Hettinger
Organized: April 17, 1907
Parent County(s): Hettinger [1]
Neighboring Counties
Bowman  • Corson (SD)  • Grant  • Harding (SD)  • Hettinger  • Perkins (SD)  • Sioux  • Slope
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaAdamsCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Adams Map.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Adams County was established March 13, 1885, and was organized April 17, 1907 by Governor John Burke. It was taken from Hettinger County.[2] North Dakota is bordered on the north by the Canadian provinces of Saskatchewan and Manitoba; on the west by Montana; on the south by South Dakota; and on the east— across the Red River of the North and the Bois de Sioux River— by Minnesota.[3]

County Courthouse

Adams County Courthouse
602 Adams Avenue
Hettinger, ND 58739
Phone: 701.567.2460 

Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce,
and land records from 1907[4]

Adams County, North Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1907 1907 1907 1907 1907 1907 1910
*State Dept. of Vital Records started births and deaths in 1923.
Full compliance by 1924.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

1907--Adams County was created 17 April 1907 from Hettinger County.

County seat:Hettinger [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships
Defunct townships


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Adams County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 5,407
1920 5,593 3.4%
1930 6,343 13.4%
1940 4,664 −26.5%
1950 4,910 5.3%
1960 4,449 −9.4%
1970 3,832 −13.9%
1980 3,584 −6.5%
1990 3,174 −11.4%
2000 2,593 −18.3%
2010 2,343 −9.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.


Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Adams County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to North Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and North Dakota Military Records.
Civil War

World War I

World War II

Vietnam War

For further information see North Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
N Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Adams, North Dakota History & Genealogy (American Local History Network)
  3. Adams County, North Dakota Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adams County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 562; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
  7. Holden Unorganized Territory consists of the boundaries of the former Holden Township [1]
  8. Whetstone Township disorganized and became part of West Adams Unorganized Territory January 1, 2006 [2].