Addingham, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Addingham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Claro; Staincliff and Ewcross|
|Poor Law Union||Skipton|
|Parish registers: 1612|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1612.
ADDINGHAM (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Skipton, partly in the E. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, and partly in the Upper division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York, 6 miles (E. by S.) from Skipton; containing 1753 inhabitants, of whom 1527 are in the township of Addingham. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Addingham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|ADDINGHAM PARISH (1612) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Addingham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Addingham page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464270.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 12-15. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.