Addison County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Addison County, Vermont)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Addison County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Addison County


{{{link}}}

Addison County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Addison County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded October 18, 1785
County Seat Middlebury
Courthouse
Address Addison County Courthouse
5 Court Street, Middlebury, VT 05753-1405
Phone: 802-388-7741
Addison County Website


County Courthouse

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records. County Clerk has divorce and birth certificates records from 1797. Probate Judge has probate records.[1]

VermontChittendenWashingtonOrange CoutnyWindsor, CountyRutland CountyAddison CountyWashington CoutnyWarren CountyNew YorkEssex CountyOrwellShorehamBridportAddisonPantonFerrisburghVergennesWalthamNew HavenWeybridgeCornwallWhitingLeicesterSailsburyMiddleburyBristolMonktonStarksboroLincolnRiptonGoshenHancockGranvillePutnamDresdenHagueTiconderogaCrown PointMoriahElizabethtownWestportLewisEssexWillsboroChesterfieldCharlotteShelburneSouth BurningtonWillistonSt. GeorgeHinesburgRichmondBoltonHuntingtonBules VermontFaystonDuxburyWaterburyMiddlesexMoretownBerlinNorthfieldWaitsfieldWarrenRoxburyBrookfieldBraintreeRandolphBethelBarnardBridewaterStockbridgeRochesterPittsfieldKillingtonMendonChittendenBrandonPittsfordProctorSudburyHubbardtonCastletonBensonWest Haven
Modern town borders in Addison County, Vermont.

Towns Organized By 1800:
Addison 1761
Bridport 1761
Cornwall 1761
Ferrisburgh 1762
Leicester 1761
Lincoln 1780
Middlebury 1761
Monkton 1762
New Haven 1761
Orwell 1763
Panton 1761
Ripton 1781
Salisbury 1761
Shoreham 1761
Starksboro 1780
Vergennes 1788
Waltham 1796
Weybridge 1761
Whiting 1763[1]

Local government. Internally, Vermont consists of nine cities, 254 towns and several unincorporated gores, governed by guidelines set by the state statutes and constitution. Towns govern themselves by Town Meeting. The governing power is found in the City Councils in cities.

There are three types of incorporated municipalities in Vermont, towns, cities and villages. As in the other New England states, towns are the basic unit of municipal government. Cities are independent of and equivalent to towns. Villages are included in towns but assume responsibility for some municipal services within their boundaries, usually water, sewage and sometimes local roads. Incorporated villages are not found in any of the other New England states.

Like most of New England, there is slight provision for autonomous county government. Counties and shire towns (like county seats) are merely convenient repositories for various government services such as County and State Courts, with several elected officers such as a State's Attorney, Sheriff, and High Bailiff. All county services are directly funded by the State of Vermont.

Quick Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Addison County, Vermont

Parent Counties

18 October 1785: from Rutland and Orange Counties.[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1852 Fire in the courthouse burned the probate records for Addison district (not New Haven) in February 1852. Only fragments remain of Addison Probate District records before 1852.

Places / Localities

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Biography

  1. Gazetteer and business directory of Addison County, Vt., for 1881-82, Includes a history of the county with biographical sketches. FamilySearch Catalog
  2. History of Addison County, Vermont: with illustrations and biographical sketches of some of its prominent men and pioneers WorldCat 2737473WorldCat 498755776FamilySearch Catalog

Cemeteries

Census

Federal

Church Records

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

There are 22 towns and one city in Addison County each with its own government. For information on tax information and licenses contact the individual town offices. Town clerks are responsible for the record keeping of deeds land records, notes and liens, mortgages, property transfers, voter registration, vital statistics and licenses. Addison County Chamber of Commerce's Government Information

Maps

Vtaddison.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies B and F

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Probate Records


Probate records are kept at town level, rather than county level.

Addison County and District Probate Files, 1845-1915, can be found on FamilySearch (browse only images).

Taxation

Vital Records

There are 22 towns and one city in Addison County each with its own government. For information on tax information and licenses contact the individual town offices. Town clerks are responsible for the record keeping of deeds land records, notes and liens, mortgages, property transfers, voter registration, vital statistics and licenses. Addison County Chamber of Commerce's Government Information

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application at Vermont Department of Health

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Historical Societies

Addison Town Historical Society
3968 VT Route 22A,
Addison, VT 05491
Phone: (802) 759-2380

Bridport Historical Society
3177 Crown Point Road,
Bridport, VT 05734
Phone: (802) 758-2654
email:msunderland@gmavt.net

Cornwall Historical Society
c/o Town Hall, 2629 VT Route 30,
Cornwall, VT 05753
Phone: (802) 462-2003

East Middlebury Historical Society
PO Box 2,
East Middlebury, VT 05740

Bristol Historical Society
Howden Hall Community Center
19 West Street
Bristol, VT
Mailing Address: 19 West Street
Bristol, VT 05443
Email:lscoffin@gmavt.net
Phone: (802) 453-3439

Ferrisburgh Historical Society
6 Little Chicago Road
Ferrisburgh, Vt
Mailing Address: 82 Gilson Lane
North Ferrisburgh, VT 05473
Phone: (802) 425-4505

Henry Sheldon Museum of Vermont History
1 Park Street
Middlebury, VT
Mailing Address: 1 Park Street
Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone: (802) 388-2117
Email:info@henrysheldonmuseum.org
Website

Lincoln Historical Society
18th Century Farmhouse & 19th Century Barn Museum
88 Quaker Street
Lincoln, VT 05443
Email:menzer01@aol.com
Phone: (802) 453-2807

Monkton Museum & Historical Society
280 Monkton Ridge
North Ferrisburgh, VT, 05473
Phone: (802) 482-2277
Email:monktonmhs@gmail.com

New Haven Historical Society
89 North Street
New Haven, VT 05472
Phone: (802) 453-3947

Orwell Historical Society
Orwell Free Library
Main Street
VT Route 73
Orwell, VT
Mailing Address: PO Box 85
Orwell, VT 05760
Phone: (802) 948-2049

Salisbury Historical Society
Town Hall
Maple Street
Salisbury, VT 05769
Mailing Address: PO Box 40
Salisbury, VT 05769
Email:barrywhitney@myfairpoint.net

Shoreham Historical Society
Stone Schoolhouse Museum
VT Route 22A
Shoreham, VT
Mailing Address: 91 Doolittle Road
Shoreham, VT 05770
Phone: (802) 897-2572
Email:gdbirdsall@yahoo.com
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.