Adstone, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Adstone, Northamptonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Adstone, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Adstone, Northamptonshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greens-Norton
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Towcester
Registration District Towcester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678; For more records see Canons Ashby
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brackley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

ADSTONE, a chapelry, in the parish of CanonsAshby, union of Towcester, hundred of GreensNorton, S. division of the county of Northampton, 6¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Towcester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Adstone, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Parish Registers (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
Adstone, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC PRs 1678-1835 1678-1835 1678-1835 1678-1835 1678-1835 1678-1835
AC PRs 1822-1887 1822-1887 1837-1912 1837-1912 1822-1887 1822-1887
FREG 1678-1872 1678-1835 1678-1886

Marriages from 1697 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438875.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 15-17. Date accessed: 22 Nov 2013.fckLR
  2. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1532-1812', Ancestry, accessed 1 June 2016.
  3. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Marriages, 1754-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  5. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  6. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.