Aisne, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aisne)
Jump to: navigation, search

EuropeGotoarrow.pngFrance Gotoarrow.png Aisne

Guide to Aisne, France ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

History

Aisne is one of the original 83 departments created during the French Revolution on 4 March 1790. It was created from parts of the former provinces of Île-de-France.

Localities

Church Records and Civil Registration

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department.

How to Read the Records

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy

  • It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
French Genealogical Word List
French Handwriting.
  • There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records

Finding Church Records and Civil Registration Online

Each Department of France has archives that provide digitized images of these records.
Here is the address for the Department Archives of Aisne, where you will find these records.

Aisne Departmental Archives

  • Etat civil (XVIe-1905)
  • Cadastre Napoléonien
  • Iconographie
  • Registres Matricules
  • Délibérations
  • Toutes les archives par commune

Resources

Societies

  • Cercle Généalogique de l'Aisne CG de l'Aisne BP 263 02406 CHATEAU THIERRY CEDEX 
  • Association des Releveurs Bénévoles pour la Recherche et l'Entraide (ARBRE) 
  • Généalogie-Aisne 12 rue des frères Desains, 02100 Saint-Quentin 
  • Fédération des sociétés d'histoire et d'archéologie de l'Aisne

(FSHAA) 28, rue Fernand-Christ, 02000 Laon Tél. : 03.23.24.61.47Société Historique et Archéologique de Château-Thierry SAC : Société Académique d'histoire, d'archéologie, des Arts et des Lettres de Chauny et de sa région SHHP : Société Historique de Haute-Picardie SASQ : Société Académique de Saint-Quentin SHASS : Société Archéologique, Historique et Scientifique de Soissons SAHVT : Société Archéologique et Historique de Vervins et de la Thiérache SHRVC : Société Historique Régionale de Villers-Cotterêts 

Websites

Family History Centers