Ak-Chin Indian Community, Arizona (Reservation)
United States American Indians Arizona Indians of Arizona Ak-Chin Indian Community, Arizona (Reservation)
Guide to Ak-Chin Indian Community, Arizona (Reservation) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
To get started with American Indian research
The Ak Chin Indian Community is a federally-recognized tribal entity and is primarily associated with the Maricopa (Ak Chin) Indian Reservation in Arizona.
42507 West Peters & Nall Rd
Maricopa, Arizona 85238
- Ak-Chin Indian Community Official Website
The Ak-Chin Indian Community was created in May 1912 by Executive Order of President Taft who initially signed for a 47,000-acre reservation. However, in September of the same year another Executive Order was issued which reduced the size of the reservation to its current 21,840 acres.
This Indian community is primarily associated with the Ak Chin Indian Reservation, formerly known as the Maricopa Indian Reservation, in Arizona.
The Ak-Chin, who are comprised of both Papago (currently known as Tohono O’odham) and Pima people, own and operate a 109 acre industrial park which was constructed in 1971. Suitable for light industry and agricultural-related industries, the industrial park is located at the southeast corner of the reservation, adjacent to the Maricopa-Casa Grande Highway and the Southern Pacific Railroad. As the landscape and terrain are ideal for growing crops, most of the land is primarily used for agriculture. The Ak-Chin Farms Enterprises manages these activities. 16,000 acres of Ak-Chin land are under irrigation.
A water rights settlement approved by Congress in 1984 entitles the Ak-Chin Indian Community to 75,000 acre-feet of Colorado River water. The community is actively exploring demonstration projects and long-term investments to find alternative ways of conserving the life-giving water supply. Ak-Chin is also working diligently to upgrade the quality of residential water supplied as well as the efficiency of its sewer facilities so that health standards and conditions may be improved for members.
In addition to agricultural activities, the Ak-Chin Community has developed a 100-acre industrial park. The 70,000-square-foot Harrah’s Ak-Chin Casino contributes greatly to the economy. The entire tribe participates in the United States’ first EcoMuseum, distinguished from a traditional museum in that land and territory replace the museum building and area residents take on the roles of curator and public. This museum houses prehistoric local artifacts owned by tribal families.
Ak-Chin, located in a lush desert area, is 43 miles northwest of the Casa Grande Ruins National Monument, which consists of wellpreserved remains of a central four-story building and several smaller outlying buildings constructed by the Hohokam Indians during the 13th century. West of Ak-Chin, low picturesque mountains enclose the scenic oasis on the desert. Remnants of other civilizations which inhabited the basin during earlier times are still in evidence. Major events held on the reservation include: St. Francis Church Feast (October); Honoring Past Chairman's Day (October); Annual Tribal Council Election (second Saturday in January); and the annual Ak-Chin Him-Dak Museum celebration (April).
Additional References to the History of the Tribe and/or Bands
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Land Records:The land is tribally-owned.
Important Web Sites
- Ak-Chin Indian Community Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, Inc. *The Official Website of the Ak-Chin Indian Community
- Constitution and By-Laws for the Ak-Chin Indian Community. A copy of the Constitution and By-laws for this tribe is available at the Sandra Day O'Connor Law Library at Arizona State University.
- Arizona Commerce Authority, Indian Community Profiles
For Further Reading
See For Further Reading.
- Official Guide of the Arizona Department of Tourism
- Indian Reservations: A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by the Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, C. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2