Alabama, United States Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Alabama Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search

North America Gotoarrow.png United States Gotoarrow.pngAlabama

Alabama Wiki Topics
Alabama flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Alabama Background
Local Research Resources
The FamilySearch moderator for Alabama is Dwsmith2.

Guide to Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Alabama Information

Alabama became the twenty-second state to be admitted to the United States on December 14, 1819. Before it came into the Union it was in the Alabama Territory. Alabama is located in the southeast region of the United States.[1] Alabama is divided into 67 counties. The state capital is Montgomery.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Alabama Research

Links to articles on getting started with Alabama research.

Alabama Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Alabama research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Alabama Clickable Map

Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.

Lauderdale CountyLimestone CountyMadison CountyJackson CountyColbert CountyLawrence CountyMorgan CountyMarshall CountyDeKalb CountyFranklin CountyMarion CountyWinston CountyCullman CountyEtowah CountyCherokee CountyLamar CountyFayette CountyWalker CountyBlount CountySt. Clair CountyCalhoun CountyCleburne CountyPickens CountyTuscaloosa CountyJefferson CountyTalladega CountyClay CountyRandolph CountySumter CountyGreene CountyHale CountyShelby CountyBibb CountyChilton CountyCoosa CountyTallapoosa CountyChambers CountyChoctaw CountyWashington CountyMobile CountyBaldwin CountyHale CountyMarengo CountyClarke CountyPerry CountyAutauga CountyDallas CountyLowndes CountyMontgomery CountyMacon CountyRussell County, AlabamaElmore CountyLee CountyWilcox CountyMonroe CountyButler CountyConecuh CountyEscambia CountyCrenshaw CountyCovington CountyBullock CountyBarbour CountyPike CountyCoffee CountyDale CountyHenry CountyGeneva CountyHouston CountyAlabama-county-map.gif


Extinct or Renamed Counties: Baine | Baker | Benton | Cabela | Cotaco | Decatur | Hancock | Jones | Sanford

Alabama Migration Routes

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.
Alabama State Seal

Additional Resources


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Alabama" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at (accessed 9 March 2016).