Albany County, Wyoming Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Albany County, Wyoming)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Wyoming Gotoarrow.png Albany County

Disambiguation - This article is about a southeastern Wyoming county. For other uses, see Albany.

Guide to Albany County, Wyoming ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Albany County Courthouse
County Courthouse Rm 202
Laramie, WY 82070
Phone: 307.721.2541
Albany County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1869, burial records from 1885, land records from 1868 and military records from 1919;
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate, court and naturalization records[1]

  • The present Albany County courthouse was designed by Wilbur Hitchcock and constructed 1931 - 1932. (photo)

Albany County, Wyoming Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
----*
1868*
1899*
1869
1868
1869
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: original county created 16 December 1868
  • County Seat: Laramie [2]

For animated maps illustrating Wyoming County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wyoming County Boundary Maps" (1848-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

  • Hatton
  • Hermosa
  • Howell
  • Jelm
  • Keystone
  • Laramie
  • Lookout
  • Mountain Home
  • Red Buttes
  • Rock Creek (hist.)


{{{link}}}
County Facts
Organized: December 16, 1868
County seat: Laramie
Parent County(s): Original county[2]
Variant Spellings:
Neighboring Counties
Carbon  • Converse  • Jackson (CO)  • Laramie  • Larimer (CO)  • Natrona  • Platte
See County Maps
Courthouse
Albany County Courthouse, Laramie, Wyoming.jpg
Location Map
Albany County Wyoming.png
Adoption

This page is available for adoption

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Albany County, Wyoming online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in
Print
(Often
more complete
)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wyoming Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Albany County, Wyoming Genealogy census records online, see: Wyoming Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Laramie

Court Records

Directories

Many directories for Laramie/Albany County are available at the University of Wyoming Library Special Collections, starting from 1875.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Albany County, Wyoming Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wyoming Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Wyalbany.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Albany County, Wyoming Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Public Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Albany - Probate records.

School Records

Tax Records

Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online $ or download an application for Wyoming Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Albany County Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 6163
    Laramie WY 82073

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Albany County, Wyoming
  2. 2.0 2.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002). Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "Handybook" defined multiple times with different content