Albisrieden parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Albisreiden parish


Guide to Albisrieden parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Albisrieden was created as an independent Protestant parish in 1866 from the parish of Grossmünster in the city of Zürich.

In 1934, Albisrieden was annexed by the city of Zürich.

Place Names

Locations within Albisrieden

Surrounding Parishes

Altstetten
Aussersihl (Sankt Peter)
Stallikon
Uitikon am Albis
Wiedikon (Sankt Peter)

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The church parish of Grossmünster listed Albisrieden separately in the Zürich census records. The following censuses are available for Albisrieden:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185140 1 621
1637 1185142 2 587
1643 1185145 1 1
1657 1185179 1 17
1670 1185155 1 489
1678 1185152 3 233
1682 1185158 2 449
1689 1185165 1 941
1694 1185165 1 961
1695 1185165 1 981
1700 1185165 1 997
1726 1185173 1 167
1757 1185173 1 189

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Albisrieden families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Albisrieden prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland