Alconbury with Alconbury Weston, Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Alconbury with Alconbury Weston, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leightonstone
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Huntingdon
Registration District Huntingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leightonstone
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Alconbury with Alconbury Weston, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

ALCONBURY or Alkmundbury, is a parish in the district and county of Huntingdon, 5 miles NW of Huntingdon. and includes the parish of Alconbury-Weston. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alconbury with Alconbury Weston, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Alconbury with Alconbury Weston, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1559-1875 (gaps)
1559-1876

FREG 1604-1626, 1660-1731, 1755-1824
1604-1626, 1660-1746, 1755-1824
1604-1626, 1660-1731, 1745-1746, 1755-1824
HUNT

1559-1900
IGI 1559-1718, 1745-1749, 1772-1824
NBI

1559-1900

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288837.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Alconbury on GENUKI

Alconbury Weston on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 18 April 2014.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  4. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Huntingdon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  6. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.