Aldbourne, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aldbourne, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Aldbourne

Guide to Albourne, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldbourne, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Selkey
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Hungerford
Registration District Hungerford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1637
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Marlborough
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

ALDBOURN (St. Michael), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Hungerford, hundred of Selkley, Marlborough and Ramsbury, and N. divisions of Wilts, 6 miles (N. E.) from Marlborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aldbourne, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
OPCA =OnlineParishClerkAldbourne - free
Aldbourne, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1613-1881
1637-1837

IGI 1707-1848
1707-1837
1793-1869
JOIN
1790-1837

NIM 1690-1849
1607-1840

OPCA 1637-1914
1637-1914
1637-1903

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 26-31. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.