Alderminister, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Alderminister, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alderminister, Worcestershire
Alderminster St Mary and the Holy Cross.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pershore
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1611
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

ALDERMINSTER (St. Mary), a parish, partly in the Upper division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, but chiefly in the Upper division of the hundred of Pershore, union of Stratford-upon-Avon, Blockley and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, of which it is a detached portion, surrounded by Warwickshire, 5 miles (S. S. E.) from Stratford.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Alderminister, Worcestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1850-1910 1850-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464212.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 September 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.