Aldham, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aldham, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes 

Guide to Aldham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldham, Essex
St. Margaret Aldham, Essex .jpg
St. Margaret Aldham, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lexden (Witham)
County Essex
Poor Law Union Lexden and Winstree
Registration District Lexden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Halstead
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Aldham (St Margaret and St Catherine), is a parish in Lexden district, Essex; it is near Colne river, 2 miles N of marks Tey railway station, and 5 miles ENE of Coggleshall. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aldham, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Aldham, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images




FREG 1558-1879
FSPRs Undefined

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241373.

Poor Law Unions

Lexden and Winstree Poor Law Union, Essex

Easter vestries, recorded from 1754, were nor- mally chaired by the rector or his curate and attended by 7-10 parishioners, attendance declining during the 18th century. About 6 other meetings a year were held, usually in the church vestry. In the periods 1757-78, 1781-8, and 1828 only 1 churchwarden was elected or re-elected. In 1754 the churchwardens were empowered to act as additional overseers, and in 1828 the sole churchwarden was also over- seer. Two overseers, 2 constables, and 2 sur- veyors were appointed regularly, the overseers serving for 6 months each. In 1757 a widow served as overseer. Constables were appointed until 1872.
In 1584 Aldham had many impotent poor, and in 1589 Petty Sessions met at Fordham ford, near the house of one of the chief constables, to deal with local unemployment. There was a workhouse by 1757, apparently at Westons on Gallows green. Paupers there span wool in the 1780s. The house was enlarged in 1801 and was leased by the overseers until c. 1835. Two other houses were used as pauper housing in 1783.
In 1753 three adults and 3 children, and by 1782 twelve people, received regular out-relief. By 1800 weekly payments were made to 33 families with young children, and between 1817 and 1819 a flour allowance was given to families with 4 or more children. Several poor families received bread in 1836. Between 1819 and 1822 payments were made to unemployed men and those on low wages, and in 1823 men were employed in the gravel pit. In 1833 the vestry resolved to levy a labour rate, based on a wage of 9s. a week, to help provide employment. In 1830 one man was helped to emigrate to New York.
Expenditure on poor relief rose from c. £120 in 1776 to an average of c. £211 between 1783 and 1785 and to £338 in 1803. By 1813 it had reached £792 or £2 1s. per head of population, one of the highest rates in the hundred. It dropped to £18s. a head in 1814 and remained well below that thereafter, except in 1820 and 1831. In most years up to 1836 expenditure, at 18s.-25s. a head, remained about average for the hundred.[8]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

Aldham on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 26-31. Date accessed: 3 May 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,', accessed 12 June 2011.
  4. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  5. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  6. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.
  8. 'Aldham: Local government', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 10: Lexden Hundred (Part) including Dedham, Earls Colne and Wivenhoe (2001), pp. 18-19. URL: Date accessed: 11 February 2011.