Aldridge, Staffordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aldridge, Staffordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Aldridge, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldridge, Staffordshire
Aldridge St Mary the Virgin Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Walsall
Registration District Walsall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Parish History

ALDRIDGE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Walsall, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 4 miles (N. E. by E.) from Walsall.[1]

Notes and Collections Relating to the Parish of Aldridge, in the County of Stafford (1884) has been digitised by Internet Archive - free.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Aldridge St Mary the Virgin Ancient Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


FMP 1647-1901 1647-1901 1660-1901 1660-1901 1574-1900 1574-1900
FREG 1771-1900
FS 1660-1856



Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1660-1970 Mar 1660-1994 Bur 1660-1934
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1856 Mar 1660-1837 Bur 1660-1856 (missing transcripts 1853).

Some stray baptisms from 1647 recorded on flyleaf of 1660 register.

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire FreeREG and can be searched for free.

Aldridge St Mary (Tynings lane) Mission church formed about 1936 No known registers

Aldridge St Thomas formerly a mission church of  Aldridge St Mary the Virgin became district church about 1969 no deposited registers

Non-Conformist Churches

Aldridge Wesleyan Methodist Chapel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years



Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1852-1961

Deposited parish registers at Walsall Local History Centre.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474614.

Poor Law Unions

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 31-34. Date accessed: 12 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 15 March 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8