Aldwincle St Peter, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Northamptonshire
Northamptonshire Parishes
Aldwincle St Peter


Guide to Aldwincle St Peter, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldwincle St Peter, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Huxloe
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Thrapston
Registration District Thrapston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oundle
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

ALDWINKLE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Thrapston, hundred of Huxloe, N. division of the county of Northampton, 3¾ miles (N. by E.) from Thrapston. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aldwincle St Peter, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[4][5][6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
Aldwincle St Peter, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1889 1813-1889 1813-1889 1813-1889
AC PRs 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1753 1563-1753 1563-1812 1563-1812
FREG 1754-1837

Marriages from 1654 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438877.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 31-34. Date accessed: 27 February 2013.
  2. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1532-1812', Ancestry, accessed 1 June 2016.
  5. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  6. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Marriages, 1754-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  7. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  8. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.