Allens Cross, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Allens Cross, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Allens Cross; A Vision of Britain through Time includes a large library of local statistics for administrative units. For the best overall sense of how the area containing Allens Cross has changed, please see our redistricted information for the modern district of Birmingham. More detailed statistical data are available under Units and statistics, which includes both administrative units covering Allens Cross and units named after it.[1]

Additional information:

This lately built parish was created in the year 1938 partly from St Chad's Rubery, and Northfield St Laurence.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

[Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry


Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. A Vision of Britain through Time, GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Allens Cross, in Birmingham and Worcestershire. Date accessed and adapted: 30 September 2013.

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.