Allerston, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Allerston, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png Allertston

Guide to Allerston, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

ALLERSTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and lythe of Pickering, N. riding of the county of York, 5 miles (E. by S.) from Pickering; containing 414 inhabitants. The parish has been united to the vicarage of Ebberston since 1242.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Allerston exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ALLERSTON PARISH (1680) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1680-1858 1680-1858 1680-1836 1680-1836 1680-1812 1680-1812
FS 1680-1874
1682-1779
None

NBI

1813-1837

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1680.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.