Allesley, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Meriden|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Allesley, or Awesley (All Saints), is a parish, in the union of Meriden, and the Kirkby division of the hundred of Knightlow, Warwickshire. It is 2 miles N W from Coventry, on the road to Birmingham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Allesley, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Allesley, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Bishops Transcripts deposited at The Lichfield Record Office: Bap 1673-1852 Marr 1673-1852 Bur 1673-1852 Missing all events 1845, 1848-1850,1853
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464175.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwichshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 37-39. Accessed and adapted 12 October, 2013.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.