Allington, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Allington, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Allington

Guide to Allington, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Allington, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Amesbury
Registration District Amesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1655
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608; 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

ALLINGTON, a parish, in the union and hundred of Amesbury, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wilts, 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Amesbury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Allington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
ALLINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1623-1812

IGI 1655-1787 1655-1895
JOIN
1623-1806

NIM 1608-1837
1608-1837
1608-1837
TGEN
1623-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 37-39. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 January 2014.
  4. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.