Alsen parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Alsen parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngJämtland County Gotoarrow.pngAlsen parish


Guide to Alsen parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Alsen
Jurisdictions
Stift -1647 Uppsala ärke, 1647- Härnösands
Pastorat -1856 Offerdal, 1856- Alsen
Län 1645-1654 Härnösands län, 1655-1762 Gävleborgs län, 1762-1810 Västernorrland, 1810- Jämtland
Landskap Jämtland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1741 Jämtlands domsaga, 1741-1916 Offerdal, 1916- Undersåker and Offerdal,
Domsaga 1680-1811 Jämtland, 1812-1878 Norra Jämtland, 1879- Jämtlands norra
Fögderi 1720-1809 Jämtlands fögderi, 1810-1883 Jämtlands södra, 1884-1970 Jämtlands västra, 1971- Östersunds fögderi
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863-1973 Alsen, 1974 Krokom
Militär indelning Jemtlands Hästjägare-Corps, Jemtlands Fältjägare-Corps, Jämtlands fältjägarregemente, Norrlands dragonregemente


Place Names

Berge, Berget, Bleckåsen, Bräcke, Ede, Finnsäter, Getan, Glösa, Hov, Hälleberg, Hällägden, Kösta Neder och Över ( Kösta Lower and Upper), Kluk, Kougsta, Landverk, Millesgård, Mo, Nederkösta, Nordbyn, Prästbordet, Röde, Rödningsberg, Slåtte, Trång, Valne, Viken, Vången, Värsmon, Västbacken, Väster-Åberg, Åse, Östbacken, Överkösta, tomma blad ( empty pages), Hantverkare ( craftsmen), Annat löst folk ( Other people without permanent residence), Fattighjon ( Poor people), Socken lappar ( Lapps belonging to the parish ).


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Jämtland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Jämtland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Jurisdictional information from: Riksarkivet, “Alsen”, at Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). November 2011.