Alsop en le Dale, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Alsop en le Dale, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Alsop en le Dale, Derbyshire|
Alsop en le Dale St Michael and All Angels Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Ashbourne|
|Parish registers: 1701|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1800|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Alsop en le Dale St Michael is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1737 from chapelry in Ashbourne with Mapleton, Derbyshire Ecclesiastical Parish. Other places in the parish include: Newton Grange.
ALSOP-LE-DALE, with Eaton, a chapelry, in the parish of Ashbourn, hundred of Wirksworth, S. division of the county of Derby, 5½ miles (N. by W.) from Ashbourn. The chapel, is dedicated to St. Michael and was built by the year 1701.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.
Alsop en le Dale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Alsop en le Dale St Michael and All Angels Chapelry (1702) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1813-1816
Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1795-1856 Marr 1802-1835 Bur 1805-1857
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Wesleyan Methodist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Eaton & Alsop on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 44-49. Adapted. Date accessed: 02 July 2103.