Alton, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Alton, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Cheadle|
|Parish registers: 1681|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1676|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish HistoryALVETON, or Alton (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Cheadle, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 4½ miles (E. by S.) from Cheadle; comprising the townships of Alton, Cotton, Denston, and Farley. There is a chapel at Cotton. The Calvinistic, Wesleyan, and Primitive Methodists have places of worship; and a Roman Catholic chapel has been erected. Cotton St John the Baptist was formed from this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Alton St Peter Ancient Parish
Alton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|ALTON PARISH (1676) Online Records|
- Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1681-1900 Mar 1681-1965 Bur 1681-1952
- Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1676-1852 Mar 1676-1852 Bur 1676-1852
Cotton St John the Baptist was formed in 1796 formerly a township in this parish Bap and Burials were recorded in this parish until 1918; the Cotton church was licensed for marriages from 1944
|COTTON ST JOHN THE BAPTIST (1795) Online Records|
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1795-1809 Mar none Bur none refer to the Alton Bishop's transcripts above for Cotton events.
Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by StaffordshireFreeREG and can be searched for free.
Alton Independent Chapel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|INDEPENDENT CHAPEL (1821) Online Records|
The following MIs from were kindly contributed by Alf Beard:
- Some Monumental Inscriptions for St. Peter's Churchyard, St. John the Baptist RC Church & New Cemetery
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Alton, Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 19 November 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
- Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8