Alton Barnes, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Alton Barnes, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Alton Barnes

Guide to Alton Barnes, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alton Barnes, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Swanborough
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Devizes
Registration District Devizes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605; 1609; 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Avebury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

ALTON BARNES or BERNERS (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Devizes, hundred of Swanborough, Devizes and N. divisions of Wilts, 7 miles (E.) from Devizes. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alton Barnes parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
ALTON BARNES PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1597-1812

JOIN
1597-1812

NIM 1592-1840
1597-1837
1601-1837

Census records

The 1841 Census returns for Alton Barnes are missing.

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 44-49. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.