Altstetten parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Altstetten parish

Guide to Altstetten Parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Altstetten was created an independent Protestant parish in 1529 from the parish of Sankt Peter in the city of Zürich.

In 1934, Altstetten was annexed by the city of Zürich.

Place Names

Locations within Altstetten

Surrounding Parishes

Albisrieden
Aussersihl (Sankt Peter)
Höngg
Schlieren
Uitikon am Albis
Urdorf
Weiningen

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Altstetten:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 1 200
1637 1185141 2 347
1640 1185143 1 345
1643 1185145 1 461
1646 1185147 2 213
1651 1185151 1 234
1655 1185151 1 301
1657 1185179 1 115
1671 1185153 1 419
1678 1185152 3 469
1682 1185159 1 115
1689 1185164 1 395
1700 1185164 2 535

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Altstetten families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Altstetten prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland