Alvaston, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Alvaston, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Alvaston, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alvaston, Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1614
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stanton by Bridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Alvaston is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1772 from chapelry in Derby St Michael, Derbyshire Ancient Parish.

ALVASTON, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Michael, Derby (which also see), union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 3½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Derby. It was esteemed a chapelry in the 12th century; church registers begin from 1614. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241293.


Church records

Alvaston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Alvaston St Michael (1614) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
1890-1913
  NONE

Alvaston St Michael and All Angels Originally a parish chapelry in the Derby St Michael, Derbyshire parish Included Allenton until 1935

The registers need to be read in conjunction with those of Boulton, Derbyshire The sequence of Baptism and burials registers for 1614-1754 will be found to contain Boulton, Derbyshire events.Boulton, Derbyshire contains baptisms and burials for 1797-1809 which are for this parish events.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 878 & D 1532 has deposited registers Bap 1614-1994  Mar 1614-1750, 1754-1992 Burials 1614-1992 Banns 1754-1812, 1903-1916, 1931-1938

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1662-1880 Marr 1662-1836 Bur  1662-1880 Missing Bap/Bur 1857

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Alvaston on GENUKI

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, 'A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 02 July 2103.