Alvechurch, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Alvechurch, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Alvechurch, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Alvechurch, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Bromsgrove
Registration District Bromsgrove
Records begin
Parish registers: 1545
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Droitwich
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Rector of Alvechurch or Allchurch
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

ALVECHURCH (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Bromsgrove, forming a detached portion of the Middle division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, locally in the Upper division of the hundred of Halfshire, Northfield and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 4½ miles (E. N. E.) from Bromsgrove. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Baptists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

familysearch.org 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464210.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

Birmingham and Midland Society For Genealogy and Heraldry has helpful information


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 September 2013.