Alvington, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Alvington, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Alvington, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alvington, Gloucestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bledisloe
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Chepstow
Registration District Chepstow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688; For more records see Woolaston
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

ALVINGTON, a parish, in the hundred of Bledisloe, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 5½miles (N. E.) from Chepstow.The road from Gloucester to Chepstow runs through Alvington, and the river Severn flows on the east. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alvington, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[6]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[7]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
 ALVINGTON PARISH (1629) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1629-1812 1629-1812 1629-1753 1629-1753 1629-1812 1629-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1757-1938 1757-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
BOYD 1698-1836
DEAN 1697-2000 1698-1988 1688-2001
FHSO 1800-1837
IGI 1629-1812 1629-1812
JOIN 1698-1836
PALL
1790-1836

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288763.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 09 April 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 16 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  7. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 5 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'
  8. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  9. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' Joiner's Marriage Index, accessed 29 January 2014.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.