Amblecote, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Amblecote, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Amblecote, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Amblecote, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Seisdon
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Stourbridge
Registration District Stourbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see Kingswinford and also see Wordesley
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see Kingswinford and also see Wordsley
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Hamlet History

AMBLECOAT, a hamlet, in the parish of Old Swinford, union of Stourbridge, S. division of the hundred of Seisdon and of the county of Stafford, ½ a mile (N.) from Stourbridge. A district chapelry was commissioned and a chapel built in Amblecote by the year 1842. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, and Methodists of the New Connexion.[1]

Additional information:

Amblecote Holy Trinity is a district church and Ecclesiastical Parish, partly in Staffordshire and partly in Worcestershire, formed in 1842 from Old Swinford, Worcestershire ancient parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1842-1891 Marr 1846-1902 Bur 1844-1904

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464209.


Poor Law Unions

Stourbridge Poor Law Union, Worcestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 September 2013.