Ampthill, Bedfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Ampthill, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ampthill|
|Parish registers: 1604|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford|
|Location of Archive|
|Bedfordshire Record Office|
AMPTHILL (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, 7 miles (S. by W.) from Bedford, and 45 (N. W. by N.) from London. There are three places of worship forIndependents, Wesleyan Methodists, and the Society of Friends.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241191.
Ampthill, Bedfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ampthill, Bedfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Original parish registers exist at the Bedfordshire County Record Office from 1538 - 1992
- Parish records have been extracted and exist on the IGI from 1538 - 1885 - Click to access the Bedfordshire page on Hugh Wallis and query the IGI
- The Society of Genealogists has parish registers from 1538 - 1909
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
See for instance: 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Ampthill on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 53-58. Date accessed: 05 June 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 April 2014.
- 'Bedfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.