Anne Arundel County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland


Anne Arundel County


Guide to Anne Arundel County, Maryland ancestry, family history, and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Anne Arundel County, Maryland
Map
Map of Maryland highlighting Anne Arundel County
Location in the state of Maryland
Map of the U.S. highlighting Maryland
Location of Maryland in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 9, 1650
County Seat Annapolis
Courthouse
Address Anne Arundel County Courthouse
7 Church Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410-222-7000
County Website


Anne Arundel County Maryland Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Anne Arundel County, Maryland Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1898 1777 1898 1776 1653 1777

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1905, divorce and court records from 1870, and land records from 1851;
Register of Wills has probate records;
Hall of Records has marriage records 1770-1904 and earlier court and land records.[1]


History

Parent County

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1704--The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1704, with the loss of all but three court record volumes. Deeds before 1699 were lost, but there are five volumes of re-recorded deeds.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:



Places/Localities

Populated Places

Anne Arundel County Boundary Map.jpg
City
Town
Census Districts
  • Arden-on-the-Severn
  • Arnold
  • Brooklyn Park
  • Cape Saint Claire
  • Crofton
  • Crownsville
  • Deale
  • Ferndale
  • Fort Meade
  • Glen Burnie
  • Green Haven
  • Herald Harbor
  • Hillsmere Shores
  • Jessup
  • Lake Shore
  • Linthicum
  • Londontowne
  • Maryland City
  • Mayo
  • Naval Academy
  • Odenton
  • Parole
  • Pasadena
  • Pumphrey
  • Riva
  • Riviera Beach
  • Selby-on-the-Bay
  • Severn
  • Severna Park
  • Shady Side
  • South Gate
Communities
  • Annapolis Junction
  • Beverly Beach
  • Churchton
  • Davidsonville
  • Fairhaven
  • Friendship
  • Gambrills
  • Galesville
  • Germantown
  • Gibson Island
  • Hanover
  • Harmans
  • Harundale
  • Harwood
  • Jacobsville
  • Lothian
  • Millersville
  • Orchard Beach
  • Owensville
  • Riverdale
  • Russett
  • Sherwood Forest
  • Sudley
  • Tracys Landing
  • West River
  • Winchester-on-the-Severn
  • Woodland Beach
  • Woodwardville

Neighboring Counties

Mdannearundel.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MDGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MDInterment
MDGravestones
Billion Graves
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information.
On-line Transcriptions

Census

"Provincial Census of 1776, Anne Arundel County: Including All Hallow's Parish and St. James' Parish (25 pages of facsimile reproductions)," is available online, see pages 407-431 and index in:

Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

For tips on accessing Anne Arundel County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Church

Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

Church of England

Gotoarrow.png See also All Hallow's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Old Herring Creek Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Queen Caroline Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Margaret's Parish

Quaker

Court

There is an excellent card index to Anne Arundel County court papers (1600s-1700s) at the Maryland State Archives. Genealogists will find that many English transported convicts make their initial American appearance in these records.

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

General
Bibliography

Gazetteers

Immigration

Annapolis has been a port since colonial times. Unfortunately, no official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

The New Early Settlers of Maryland database is a great place to start searching for immigrants who had arrived in the colony by the 1680s. The database "comprises 34,326 entries from Gust Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland and Carson Gibb's Supplement to the Early Settlers of Maryland." Available online, courtesy: Maryland State Archives.

Other Anne Arundel County immigration resources include:

Land

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Anne Arundel County Deed Books (1653-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

Anne Arundel County men served in the 3rd Maryland Regiment,[3] the 4th Maryland Regiment,[4] and the 6th Maryland Regiment.[5]

War of 1812
Civil War

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Research Guides

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

Anne Arundel Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 1553
Glen Burnie, Maryland 21060
E-Mail: :info@aagensoc.org
Website

Maryland State Law Library
Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building
361 Rowe Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401
410 260-1430
Fax 410 260-1572
E-Mail: lawlibrary@mdcourts.gov
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Anne Arundel County, Maryland page 317, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "3rd Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3rd_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "4th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "6th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/6th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Anne_Arundel_County,_Maryland_Genealogy&oldid=2754629"