Annesley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Annesley, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Annesley All Saints Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1599|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
ANNESLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 10 miles (N. N. W.) from Nottingham with the hamlets of Annesley-Woodhouse and Wandesley, and the extraparochial district of Felly.
The 12th century church of All Saints fell into disuse and is now in ruins and have been listed as an Ancient monument. Ruined church listing The church is referred to in literature by both Lord Byron and D.H. Lawrence who lived in the county.
The church of All Saints was rebuilt in 1907 following fire and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was in the Basford registration district
Annesley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|Cem = Annesley Cemetery records including index images (Ashfield District Council) - FREE|
|ANNESLEY PARISH Online Records|
||1975-2006(Images of book indexes)|| 1911-2005|
Annesley All Saints
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1599-1959 Marriages 1599-1955 Burials 1599-1881 Bishop’s Transcripts 1605-1867
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Annesley
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Annesley in GENUKI: Annesley
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-62. Date accessed: 14 April 2012.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.