Anoka County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Anoka County, Minnesota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Anoka County

Guide to Anoka County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Anoka County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Anoka County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded May 23, 1857
County Seat Anoka
Courthouse
Address Anoka County Courthouse
325 East Main Street,
Anoka, MN 55303
Phone: 763-422-7399
Anoka County Website


County Information

Anoka County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1858 1870 1850 1857 1858

County Courthouse


Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1865, divorce, court and land records from 1866.
Probate Judge has probate records. [2]

History

Parent County

1857--Anoka County was created 23 May 1857 from Ramsey County. County seat: Anoka [3] 

  • For a brief history of how Anoka County was named, click here. Then select Anoka County.

Boundary Changes

no apparent changes

For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities:
Andover . Anoka . Bethel . Blaine . Centerville . Circle Pines . Columbia Heights. Columbus. Coon Rapids. East Bethel. Fridley. Ham Lake. Hilltop. Lexington. Lino Lakes. Nowthen. Oak Grove. Ramsey. St. Francis. Spring Lake Park.

Townships: Linwood

Communities: Linwood

Neighboring Counties

Chisago | Hennepin | Isanti | Ramsey | Sherburne | Washington| Wright

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, ANOKA – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Anoka County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnanoka.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Anoka County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Anoka County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company C.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company E.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Anoka County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

Anoka County Genealogical Society
1900-3rd Avenue South
Anoka 55303
Phone: (763) 421-0600
Website

Anoka County Historical Society
History Center and Library
2135 3rd Avenue North
Anoka, Minnesota 55303
Phone:(763) 421–0600
Website

See also a List of Minnesota Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Anoka County, Minnesota page 362, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).