Antelope County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Antelope County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Antelope County
Antelope County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Antelope County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 1, 1871
County Seat Neligh
Courthouse
Antelope County Courthouse (Nebraska).jpg
Photo courtesy of Ammodramus
Address Antelope County Courthouse
501 Main Street
Neligh, NE 68756-1424
Phone: 402.887.4410
County Website


Antelope County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Antelope County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1871 1870 1871 1871

County Courthouse


County Judge has marriage and probate records. County Clerk has land records. [2]

History

Antelope County is located in the northeast portion of the state. The first pre-emption claim made in Antelope County was by George St. Clair, of French Canadian descent on April 25, 1868 [3]

Parent County

1871 Antelope County was created 1 March 1871 from L'Eau Qui Court County and unorganized territory.
County seat: Neligh [4]

Description

The county was formed in 1867 and organized in 1871. It is named for the Pronghorn antelope. [5] It is bounded on the north by Knox County, on the east by Pierce and Madison, on the south by Boone and on the west by Wheeler and Holt Counties.[6]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[7]

Cities
  • Elgin
  • Neligh
  • Tilden
Villages
  • Brunswick
  • Clearwater
  • Oakdale
  • Orchard
  • Royal
Townships
  • Bazile
  • Blaine
  • Burnett
  • Cedar
  • Clearwater
  • Crawford
  • Custer
  • Eden
  • Elgin
  • Ellsworth
  • Elm
  • Frenchtown
  • Garfield
  • Grant
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Neligh
  • Oakdale
  • Ord
  • Royal
  • Sherman
  • Stanton
  • Verdigris
  • Willow

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Nebraska Gravestones
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 3,953
1890 10,399 163.1%
1900 11,344 9.1%
1910 14,003 23.4%
1920 15,243 8.9%
1930 15,206 −0.2%
1940 13,289 −12.6%
1950 11,264 −15.2%
1960 10,176 −9.7%
1970 9,047 −11.1%
1980 8,675 −4.1%
1990 7,965 −8.2%
2000 7,452 −6.4%
2010 6,685 −10.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Antelope County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Antelope County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Neantelope.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Antelope - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

Libraries

  • Neligh Public Library
    710 Main Street
    Neligh, NE 68756
    Phone: (402) 887-5140
    Fax: (402) 887-4530
    Email: jn@nelighlibrary.com

Family History Centers

  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Antelope County, Nebraska page 428, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. http://www.kancoll.org/books/andreas_ne/antelope/antelope-p1.html Accessed 8/2016 Andreas History of the State of Nebraska
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antelope_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  6. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/antelope/ accessed 09/29/2016
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Antelope County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antelope_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.