Apethorpe with Woodnewton, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Apethorpe with Woodnewton, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Apethorpe with Woodnewton, Northamptonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Willybrook
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1676; Separate registers exist for Woodnewton beginning 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605; Separate records exist for Woodnewton beginning 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oundle
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1851 - Court of the Peculiar of Nassington; Post-1850 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

APETHORPE (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Oundle, hundred of Willybrook, N. division of the county of Northampton, 4¼ miles (S. W. by W.) from Wansford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Apethorpe, Northamptonshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Bishop's Transcripts (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Parish Registers (Ancestry) - (£)[4][5][6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
Apethorpe, Northamptonshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1848-1881 1848-1881 1848-1881 1848-1881
AC PRs 1676-1813 1676-1813 1676-1753 1676-1753 1676-1813 1676-1813
FREG 1713-1743, 1800-1813 1713-1743, 1754-1837 1713-1812

Woodnewton, Northamptonshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Woodnewton, Northamptonshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1848-1882 1848-1882 1848-1882 1848-1882
AC PRs 1588-1812 1588-1812 1588-1753 1588-1753 1588-1812 1588-1812
FREG 1588-1751, 1813-1831 1588-1648, 1700-1750, 1813-1831 1588-1750, 1813-1831

Marriages from 1687 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438881.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 62-66. Date accessed: 27 February 2013.
  2. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1532-1812', Ancestry, accessed 1 June 2016.
  5. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  6. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Marriages, 1754-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  7. 'Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed5 March 2015.
  8. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.