Ardleigh, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ardleigh, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Ardleigh, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ardleigh, Essex
St Mary Ardleigh Essex contributor Peter Stack.jpg
St Mary Ardleigh Essex contributor Peter Stack
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tendring
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1555
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ardleigh
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Ardleigh (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Tendring, N. division of Essex, 4 3/4 miles NE from Colchester; containing 1605 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ardleigh, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Ardleigh, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1754-1851


BOYD

1555-1761


ESSEX
1555-1967
1555-1957
1555-2001
FREG 1664-1967
1664-1833, 1837-1900, 1923-1963
1664-2001
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
NBI



1555-1866

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office Images available for Ardleigh St Mary the Virgin and Ardleigh Wesleyan Methodist Church

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.


Census of 1796, 1811-1821. In addition to the above censuses, the vicar of Ardleigh in 1796, and other years enumerated the inhabitants of this parish for these years.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ardleigh on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: accessed date 3 May 2013
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  4. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  5. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.
  6. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.