Arendal, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Arendal, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngAust-Agder County Gotoarrow.pngArendal

Guide to Arendal, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Microfilm at the Family History Library for Arendal by (Arendal city).  Contains priest and sexton records from Trinity parish in Arendal city. the Trinity parish was separated from Holt clerical district in 1705.  Parish registers exists from 1703 until 1927.

For 1804 christenings see Øyestad

Digitized parish registers online at Digitalarkivet [Digital Archives]

Arendal:  1703-1939

Census Records

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Holt prestegjeld (clerical district) includes Arendal, Tromøy, Austre Moland, Flosta, Dybvåg, Kristiansand and Holt and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
  • Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Holt prestegjeld (clerical district) includes Arendal, Holt, Tromøy, Austre Moland, Flosta and Dypvåg and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
  • 1801: Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Arendal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. The 1801 census (b. 33) for Arendal city lists the street name and number, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

A typewritten edition with indexes is available on microfiche. It is called "Mikrokortutgåva av 1801-teljina".

Also available online in a searchable database at Digital Archives (Digitalarkivet).

  • 1815: 1815 folketelling for Arendal prestegjeld (Aust-Agder). The 1815 census for Arendal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. The 1815 census for Arendal clerical district which includes Arendal city. Includes the head of household (or his widow), his wife, children, servants, sex, age and some miscellaneous information. 
  • 1825: 1825 folketelling for Arendal prestegjeld (Aust-Agder). The 1825 census for Arendal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. The 1825 census for Arendal clerical district which includes Arendal city. Includes the house numbers, head of houshold (or his widow), his wife, children, servants, number of people in each household, occupations, tenants, sex, age and some miscellaneous information.
  • 1835: 1835 folketelling for Arendal prestegjeld (Aust-Agder). The 1835 census for Arendal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. The 1835 census for Arendal clerical district which includes Arendal city. Includes the house numbers, head of houshold (or his widow), his wife, children, servants, occupation, sex, age and some miscellaneous information.
  • 1846:  1846 folketelling for Arendal prestegjeld (Aust-Agder).  The 1846 census for Arendal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. The 1846 census for Arendal clerical district which includes Arendal city. Includes the house numbers, head of houshold (or his widow), his wife, children, other family members staying in household, servants, occupation, sex, age and some miscellaneous information.
  • 1855: 1855 folketelling for Arendal prestegjeld (Aust-Agder). The 1855 census for Arendal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. The 1855 census for Arendal clerical district which includes Arendal city. Includes the house numbers, head of houshold (or his widow), his wife, children, other family members staying in household, school teacher, servants, occupation, sex, age and some miscellaneous information.
  • 1865: Folketælling 31 December 1865. The 1865 census for Arendal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.  Also available online at Digital Archives (Digitalarkviet)
  • 1875: Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875. The 1875 census for Arendal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
  • 1900: Folketælling for Norge, 3 Dec 1900. The 1900 census for Arendal is available on microfilm at the Familiy History Library. This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available online in a searchable database at the Digital Archives (Digitalarkivet).

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Genealogy

Finne-Grønn, S. H. (Stian Herlofsen), 1869-1953: Arendals geistlighet, dens genealogi og personal historie. The genealogy and personal history of the clergy in Arendal in Aust-Agder county

FHL 948.28/A2 D2f

Gram, H.T. (Hans Thomas), 1913- : Familien Kallevig. Omhandler personer som i fødselen har fått navnet Kallevig eller som er blitt inngiftet i familien. Et slektsregister og et navneregister finnes bakerst i boken, Dette er Arendal-Kallevig'er. This is about persons born with the name Kallevig or married into the family.

FHL 929.2481 K126 To view a digital version click here

Ihlen, Chr.: Familierne "Ellefsen" og "Dedekam";. A genealogy of the Ellefsen and Dedekam families in Aust-Agder and Vest-Agder counties in Norway

FHL 929.2581 EL54 To view a digital version click here

Riestøl, Gottfred (Johannes Gottfred), 1886-,: Mesterskredder i Arendal Lorentz Chr. Fryndt Wagle 1787-1844 og hans etterslekt: samt en del opplysninger om slektens opprinnelse m.m. A genealogy of the descendants of master tailor Lorentz Christian Fryndt Wagle. He was born 6 Sep 1787 in Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway and died 8 Sep 1844 in Arendal, Aust-Agder, Norway. Includes biographies and some history of the family origins.

FHL 929.2481 W122 To view a digital version click here

Larson, Emma Charlotte Moland, b. 1871 Moland - Anderson family genealogical data, 1824-1974. Peter Anderson Moland (1824-1913 immigrated in 1849 from Norway to Bidnack (near Chicago). He returned to Norway to marry his sweetheart, but she refused him unless he remained in Norway; he married Ingeborg Oleson Lea in 1851, and returned to Bidnack. In 1855 they homesteaded in St. Lawrence, Waupaca County, Wisconsin, later moving to Farmington, Jefferson county, Wisconsin. Descendants and relatives lived in Illinois, Wisconsin, and elsewhere. Includes other immigrant ancestors from Norway to Wisconsin, as well as some ancestors in Arendal Parosh, Aust-Agder County, Norway.

FHL United States & Canada Film 1320612 item 6

Aalholm, O. A.: Om Sørensen fra Bratteklev, Gjervoll- og Songeætten (Tromøy-Arendal) 1440-1940 A genalogy of the Sørensen family from Bratteklev and the families from the Gjervoll and Songe in Arendal, Aust-Agder, Norway

FHL 929.2481 So68 To view a digital version click here

Probate Records

Arendal and Risør city judicial district
*1709-1779 Family History Library

Arendal city judicial district
*1779-1880 Family History Library
*1709-1911 Digitalarkivet