Arkansas Military Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search



UM ORP.png



Online Resources

Indian Wars, dates vary
War of 1812, 1812-1815
Mexican War, 1846-1848
Civil War, 1861-1865
Spanish-American War, 1898
World War I, 1917-1918
World War II, 1941-1945
Korean War, 1950-1953
Vietnam War, 1964-1972


Military records identify millions of young men who served in the military or who were eligible for service. Military records can give birth dates, marriage dates, death dates, spouse and children names, localities of residence throughout the life of the family.

Evidence that an ancestor actually served may be found in family traditions, census records, naturalization records, biographies, cemetery records, and records of veterans’ organizations.

For each war listed below, additional federal sources are listed in United States Military Records. It contains search strategies and information to guide you to the best records for your objective.

Online Resources

General

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Also:

World War I

World War II

Forts

Battle of Fort Hindman

See also:

Revolutionary War (1775-1783)

Some veterans of the Revolutionary War ventured out into Arkansas.

The 1835 Pension Roll

On June 5, 1834, the U.S. Senate required the Secretary of War to submit a statement showing the names of pensioners who were on the pension rolls or had previously been on the pension rolls. For more information on the 1835 Pension Roll see Revolutionary War Pension Records. The 1835 Pension Roll, which includes Revolutionary War pensioners and heirs of War of 1812 casualties, is available online:

War of 1812 (1812-1815)

The War of 1812 between Britain and the United States confirmed the separate existence of the United States and the future Canada. Arkansas was part of the Missouri Territory during the war. Since it did not became its own territory until 1819, all War of 1812 records for that area were kept by the Missouri Territory.

After the war, veterans started moving to the Missouri and Arkansas Territories because of bounty land.

There are helpful nationwide records for soldiers of the War of 1812. For more information, see United States in the War of 1812.

Land Records

Explanation of the Major War of 1812 Record Types

Mexican War (1846-1848)

The Mexican War was caused by the annexation of Texas by the United States in 1845. Most volunteer regiments were from southern states. Records of Mexican War veterans might exist in a state where the veteran later resided.

Click on these links to learn more about the Mexican War and about Mexican War pension records.

Civil War (1861-1865)

Online Records

See also:

Elkhorn Tavern in Pea Ridge, Arkansas, Civil War Battlefield, 7-8 March 1862

Wiki articles describing these collections are found at:

Spanish-American War (1898)

The Spanish-American War was largely fought in Cuba and the Philippines. Spanish-American War records might exist in the state from which the soldier served or in a state where the veteran later resided.

Indexes

Click on the link to learn more about the Spanish American War.

World War I (1917-1918)

World War I was a global war fought on multiple continents with several nations involved. Over four million men and women served from the United States.

United States. Selective Service System. Arkansas, World War I Selective Service System Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918. National Archives Microfilm Publications, M1509. Washington, DC: National Archives, 1987-1988. FHL film with 1522740 (first of 71 films). These cards have been digitized and are searchable online.

United States World War I Draft Records provides additional information.

World War II (1941-1945)

On April 27, 1942, the Selective Service conducted the fourth of six draft registrations. The "World War II Selective Service Draft Cards: Fourth Registration, 1942" is often referred to as the “Old Man’s Registration” or the “Old Man’s Draft" because it included men with a date of birth from April 28, 1877 to February 16, 1897. Since there is overlap in the WWI and WWII Selective Service registration, men born in the years 1877 to 1900 may have registered twice and have both WWII and WWI draft records.

Also see:

World War II United States Military Records provides additional information.

Korean War (1950–1953)

The Korean War was a conflict between North Korea (and its communist allies) and South Korea (with support of the United Nations, primarily the United States). See the Korean War wiki article for information on records and their availability.

Vietnam War (1964–1972)

The Vietnam War was a conflict between North Vietnam (and its communist allies) and South Vietnam (with support of its anti-communist allies, including the United States). See the Vietnam War wiki article for information on records and their availability.

Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Arkansas_Military_Records&oldid=2789758"