Armin, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Armin, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Armin

Guide to Armin, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chapel History

ARMIN, a chapelry, in the parish of Snaith, union of Goole, Lower division of the wapentake of Osgoldcross, W. riding of York, 2 miles (N. N. W.) from Goole; containing 593 inhabitants. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Armin exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
ARMIN Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1726-1900
1726-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464266.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 69-73 Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.