Arminghall, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Arminghall, Norfolk)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk ParishesGotoarrow.png Arminghall

Guide to Arminghall, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Arminghall, Norfolk
St Mary's Church, Arminghall Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Repps
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office
St Mary's Church, Arminghall Norfolk.jpg

Parish History

ARMINGHALL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Henstead, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (S. E. by S.) from Norwich. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Arminghall, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = Norfolk Parish Registers Browse (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
Arminghall, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1570-1754

FMP 1570-1813 1570-1966 1570-1813
FREG 1558-1835
1558-1902
1558-1835
FS ATs 1707-1812 1707-1812 1707-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1813 Undefined 1558-1808, 1819-1833, 1838-1902 Undefined 1558-1813
TGEN 1819-1902 1819-1902

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.


1891 Surname Census transcription: Transcribed by Pat Greetham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 69-73 http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50759#s23. Date accessed: 28 Aug 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Parish Registers Browse', findmypast, accessed 31 July 2015.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  7. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  8. 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.