Arnold, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Arnold, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Arnold St Mary Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1544|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
ARNOLD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtowand of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Nottingham with part of the hamlet of Daybrook. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Wesleyans of the New Connexion, Baptists, and Independents; and a Chartist meeting-house.
Arnold St Mary is an Ancient parish which includes Daybrook within the parish boundary.See Daybrook, Nottinghamshire
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church Arnold St Mary
The church was restored in 1868,1877and 1923 but dates from in part from the 12th century and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building
See also Arnold St Mary Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Arnold, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|ARNOLD PARISH Online Records|
Arnold St Mary
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1544-1954 Marriages 1546-1952 Burials 1544-1953 Bishop’s Transcripts 1605-1839
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Arnold
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.-
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
- Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan. Arnold Inclosure 1793.This is an alphabetical list of land/property owners with reference to an inclosure map. Map is not included, but is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref EA 109/1. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 129, pages 1-2. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref. PR3944.
Arnold in GENUKI Arnold
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.