Arrington, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Arrington, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Caxton|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
ARRINGTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Caxton and Arrington, hundred of Wetherley, county of Cambridge, 5¼ miles (S. S. E.) from Caxton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library and through a Family History Center. Those films are:
- Parish registers for Arrington, 1538-1877: 1040363 Items 21-23, 1040364 Items 1-2
- Bishop's transcripts for Arrington, 1599-1869: 1485265 Items 1-2
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241226.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Arrington on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.