Aruba Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aruba)
Jump to: navigation, search

Netherlands Gotoarrow.png Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Netherlands Antilles Gotoarrow.png Aruba

Aruba Wiki Topics
Flag of Aruba.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Aruba Background
Local Research Resources



Guide to Aruba ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

See also Netherlands Antilles (dissolved in 2010).

Country Information

Aruba is the western most island of the Netherlands Antilles in the Caribbean, off the north shore of Venezuela. It is a constituent country of The Kingdom of the Netherlands. The official languages are Dutch and Papiamento.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Aruba Research

Links to articles on getting started with Aruba research.

Aruba Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Aruba research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Aruba Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Aruba.

Aruba map.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Aruba. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Aruba is divided into eight regions:

  • Noord/Tank Leendert
  • Oranjestad (west)
  • Oranjestad (east)
  • Paradera
  • Santa Cruz
  • Savaneta
  • Sint Nicolaas (north)
  • Sint Nicolaas (south)

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Aruba," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aruba, accessed 5 May 2016.