Aså-Melholt Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Hjørring County
Asa Melholt

Guide to Aså-Melholt, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Aså-Melholt Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Aså-Melholt Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Add here
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names

Agerbæk, Agersborg, Arildsminde, Asaa, Asaa Enge, Asaagaard, Asaa Hede, Asaa-Melholt, Asaa Udflyttere

Bakkegaard, Baksminde, Batteriet, Bi-lidt, Birkelund, Bjørnstrup, Bolleskov, Bovet, Bøgelund

Carlsminde

Damhuse, Dammen, Diget, Doktorgaarden, Donnerbæk

Emilsminde, Enggaard, Englund

Fjeldgaard, Frydenstrand, Fuglsang

Gammel Agerbæk, Gammelsbæk, Gammelsbækgaard, Geraa, Geraa Enge, Geraa Rimmer, Giliamshave, Grønbak, Grønbak Bæk

Hansminde, Hasselgaard, Hedegaard, Hegnsgaard, Hjørnelund, Holtet, Højbo, Højsted, Hønborgbro

Jørgensminde

Karensbo, Kibsgaarde, Kibsgaards Hede, Kibsgaard Mose, Kirkebakke, Kjellingbrogaard, Kjærsgaard, Klemmen, Kovshede, Kovsholt, Kovsholt Bæk, Krogen, Kærvang

Langbakslund, Langbaksminde, Laustgaard, Lille Bjørnstrup, Lille Bovet, Lille Hedegaard, Lille Klitgaard, Lille Kokkenborg, Lille Kovsholt, Lille Langheden, Lundgaard, Lykkenshede, Lykkensprøve

Melholt, Melholt Enge, Melholtgaard Skov, Melholt Plantage, Melholt Rimmer, Melholt Skov, Melholtsgaarde, Melholtsgaardsmark, Mellemgaard, Mellemkær, Møllebæk, Møllegaard, Mørkholt

Nedergaard, Nielsminde, Ny Milholt, Nygaard, Nymark, Nørgaard, Nørkær, Nørre Melholt, Nørre Skotland

Peterslund, Poulsgaard

Rimmen, Risgaard

Skelgaard, Skellet, Skellets Mark, Skelsminde, Skotland, Skovengen, Skovgaard, Skovlund, Smalby, Snørholt, Solholt Hede, Solvang, Steinsminde, Store Bjørnstrup, Store Bovet, Store Kovsholt, Store Langheden, Store Aakær, Strandgaard, Søndergaard, Sønderkær, Søndermarken, Sønder Melholt, Sønder Skotland, Sønder Søraa, Sønder Aakær, Søraa

Teglgaard, Truesbak

Vandaa, Vester Heden, Vester Melholt, Vester Aakær, Vestergaard

Ørsø Møllegaard, Øster Melholt, Øster Søndergaard, Østergaard

Aabo, Aakær, Aalykke

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Aalborg amt: Hals, Ulsted

Hjørring amt: Albæk, Dronninglund, Voer
Ulsted Parish

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.