Asfordby, Leicestershire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Melton Mowbray|
|Registration District||Melton Mowbray|
|Parish registers: 1564|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
ASHFORDBY, or Asfordby, a parish in Melton-Mowbray district, Leicester; on the Midland railway and the river Wreak, 3 miles W of Melton-Mowbray. It has a station on the railway, and a post office under Melton-Mowbray.There are chapels for Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Asfordby, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|ASFORDBY PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Asfordby Bap 1564 - 1955 Marr 1564 - 1961 (Banns to1970) Bur 1564 - 1946
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.