Ash (near Sandwich), Kent Genealogy
|England Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Ash near Sandwich, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ash (near Sandwich), Kent|
Ash St Nicholas Kent
|Poor Law Union||Eastry|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1570|
|Probate Court||Pre-1547 - Court of the Exempt Jurisdiction of Wingham; Post-1546 - Court of the Bishop of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
ASH-Near-Sandwich (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Wingham, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3 miles (E.) from Wingham. There are two small places of worship for Wesleyans; and a free school.
Ash is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Ash Dover Wikipedia and includes the villages of Ash, Westmarsh, Ware and Hoaden.
Ash St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury and adjoinsStaple, Kent Ancient Parish. It is one of the most extensive parishes and in 1849West Marsh, Kent was formed within the parish boundary. The church there closed and modern parish of Ash with Westmarsh was formed; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A Church near you
The church of St Nicholas, The Street, Ash has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
This village should not be confused with Ash (near Ridley), Kent
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ash (near Sandwich), Kent Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Ash (near Sandwich), Kent Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Images for Ash next Sandwich are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831
The Family History Library have introduced "next Sandwich" to differentiate between the parish and civil Parish and Ash near Wrotham in the Sevenoaks district elsewhere in the county ( Ash (near Ridley), Kent )It is more usual to refer to Ash Dover as the civil parish is within the Dover District of the county for administrative and local government purposes.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 77-81. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.