Ashby by Partney, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Ashby by Partney, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashby by Partney, Lincolnshire
Ashby by Partney St Helen Lincolnshire.jpg
Ashby by Partney St Helen Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Candlethorpe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spilsby
Registration District Spilsby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Candleshoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

ASHBY-BY-PARTNEY, or Ashby-East, a parish in Spilsby district, Lincoln; on the river Steeping, 2 miles E of Spilsby, and 3½ W of Burgh r. station. Post Town, Spilsby. Ashby St Helen is a small hamlet and Ancient Parish which includes Ashby by Partney East Fen (sometimes East Fen) The 16th century church was rebuilt in 1841 and restored in 1891.

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel built in 1836 was replaced in 1887.[1]


Civil Registration

This parish was in Spilsby sub-district of Spilsby registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Ashby by Partney Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ashby by Partney

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438760.

Poor Law Unions

Spilsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and WalesDate accessed: 07 August 2013.