Ashby cum Fenby, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Ashby cum Fenby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashby cum Fenby, Lincolnshire
Ashby cum Fenby St Peter Lincolnshire.jpg
Ashby cum Fenby St Peter Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradley Haverstoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grimsby
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1723
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grimsby
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

ASHBY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Caistor, wapentake of Bradley-Haverstoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 6¼ miles (S. by W.) from Grimsby; containing, with the hamlet of Fenby, Ashby cum Fenby St Peter is an Ancient Parish in North East Lincolnshire.

The church has been designated as a grade II* listed building by English Heritage and contains part of the Norman church which was restored in 1845 and the tower repaired in 1886.

The village and civil parish is 4 miles south west of  Holton le Clay and six miles south of Grimsby. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Grmsby sub-district of Caistor registration district until 1890 reorganisation when it became part of Grimsby registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Ashby cum Fenby Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ashby cum Fenby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438760.

Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Initially part of Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire until 1890 reorganisation it became part of

Grimsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,|A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 81-85. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.